A prevailing prayer for a friend.

 

“You have heard that it was said, ‘You shall love your neighbor and hate your enemy.’ 44 But I say to you, Love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you, 45 so that you may be sons of your Father who is in heaven. For he makes his sun rise on the evil and the good, and sends rain on the just and the unjust.”  For if you love those who love you, what reward do you have? -Matthew 5:43-46


The door of Reconciliation

This is a true story way back In 1492 two Irish families, the Butlers of Ormonde and the FitzGeralds of Kildare, were involved in a bitter feud. This disagreement centred around the position of Lord Deputy. Both families wanted one of their own to hold the position. In 1492 this tension broke into outright warfare, and a small skirmish occurred between the two families just outside the city walls.
The Butlers, realising that the fighting was getting out of control, took refuge in the Chapter House of Saint Patrick’s Cathedral. However, the FitzGeralds followed them into the Cathedral and asked them to come out and make peace. The Butlers, afraid that if they did so, they would be slaughtered, refused.
As a gesture of good faith the head of the Kildare family, Gerald FitzGerald ordered that a hole is cut in the door. He then thrust his arm through the door and offered his hand in peace to those on the other side.  Upon seeing this, FitzGerald was willing to risk his arm by putting it through the door the Butlers reasoned that he was serious in his intention. They shook hands through the door; the Butlers emerged from the Chapter House and the two families made peace.
Today this door is known as the “Door of Reconciliation” and is on display in the Cathedral’s north transept. This story also lives on in a famous expression in Ireland “To chance your arm”.

-Article: http://www.stpatrickscathedral.ie/chancing-your-arm.aspx )

Would you believe they were former foe? (on the Left is Che, and on the right Lyra)

My best friend struggle with bitterness and hate the moment when she and her boyfriend have a painful break up back at 2012
I am with her in those painful moments,
and there are times I can feel the heaviness of her burden
Even how many words of wisdom it just didn’t work for her, this circumstance became a measure of my faith in God.
because you didn’t see her healing in heart and spirit,
I became so impatient with her healing process,
she also have an enemy
and guess who? the Girlfriend of the ex-boyfriend
i don’t how the fire starts between them or when but all i know is i saw how both of them burning with rage to each other,
this became also my downfall, I cared so much for this friend of mine i wanted to see her changed,
and lived peacefully and happy.
my heart almost tired of giving her advise.
after almost one year of praying
Che (the name of a friend is “Cherry”) called me and tell the news that Lyra (the name of the Girlfriend) and Kenneth (the name of ex-boyfriend whom happened to be my childhood classmate and friend) broke up
i can hear right through my phone there is a sparks of joy in the tone not because Che and Kenneth could get back together
but because finally Che will have this chance to have a closure with his Ex-BF
because back then they didn’t have a chance to talked about their break up
for the reason that Kenneth working abroad and they were distant.
i tried to set up their meeting i just wanted everything to end and Che to have a new start with her life and moved on.
(because its almost a year and she still cannot move on and i think that’s ridiculous, but I still trying my best to understand her heart situation.)
i message both of them and talked to both of them all the “When” “Where”,
but after setting the perfect schedule it failed both of them didn’t showed up in the meeting place in the day I set up, so as usual when my plans failed
setting my eyes to plan B surrendering to GOD, (I am glad there is God who kept me from being disappointed just uttering little prayers like “LORD? It is your problem now, you know? I am a sinner and i love my friend that much? how much more are you? sinless? for sure you loved her more than i can imagine”.
Lyra and Kenneth get back together after weeks of break up
aaaannnnnd…..
there is still no results in my prayers and it was saddening i can no longer take,
it’s weakening my faith, and to be able to stop from this hopelessness i am feeling I stop texting and calling Che and I dont want to hear anything about all her matters, I stop following Lyra in facebook so i cannot see her negative posts and when i see Che posting negative too, i will unfollow her posts too.
i actually unfollow everyone that are involved to the issue because i dont want to hear anything,
it is hardening my heart.
and i am saving myself from hate and judgements i can throw to anyone of them
but even I lost my contact with her i didn’t stop praying for result by then that God will work on it simply because i prayed for it,
And after almost a year God has answered my insistent prayer this March
Lyra initiate the reconciliation when she message Che if they could meet up
I appreciate the humility Lyra shown toward us and I am so glad i didn’t judge her,
and so they did meet up and talked about all the things  asking forgiveness, forgiving and let go and me also had a chance to meet her too for the first time, so i can get to know her
as I observe her motives, i was so touched of what i am seeing, She is kind and genuine and Che telling me that she was happy because she think it God’s way for her to fully healed because the moment she see Lyra she didn’t feel any  hate after all the things she said against her, and that all she knows is to forgive and let go, and she said “you know? i thought im stil in this moving on process, but when i see Lyra i realized i had already moved on)
i am proud of the kind of woman the both of them becoming.
i never thought it could get this far that they would end up as friends,
i watch them both from behind they were comfortable and compatible as if nothing happen,
we found ourselves laughing at each other’s joke without a trace of awkwardness toward each other.
and i can sense God saying in my head “you know child? I worked in humble hearts” .
I am happy to see them both healed by simply “chancing their arms”.

let me end this post with this quote from my favorite Martin Luther King
“Darkness cannot drive out darkness; only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate; only love can do that.”

A prevailing prayer for a friend.

Leave a Reply

